What Is Meant by Phases in IIT JEE?

What Is Meant by Phases in IIT JEE?

Before understanding about phases in IIT JEE, first, recall what JEE is and who is eligible to appear for IIT JEE. IIT refers to the Indian Institute of Technology, and JEE refers to the Joint Entrance Examination. JEE is an engineering entrance examination conducted by NTA for admission to different engineering colleges across India, such as IITs, NITs, etc. IITs are premier Indian educational institutions that provide technical education for students. JEE comprises two phases, namely JEE Main and JEE Advanced. Candidates who successfully crack the first phase, i.e., JEE Main, will be eligible for the second phase, i.e., JEE Advanced.

JEE Main constitutes two papers. Paper 1 is conducted for admission at NITs, IIITs, other CFTIs (Centrally Funded Technical Institutions), and Institutions/Universities funded/acknowledged by participating State Governments to pursue Undergraduate Engineering Programs, such as. B.E or B.Tech. In contrast, paper 2 is conducted for entry to the country’s B. Arch and B. Planning courses. The JEE Main 2023 will be conducted in two sessions for accepting admissions to the upcoming academic session. In 2023, JEE Main is scheduled to be conducted in two sessions, the first in January and the second in April.

Also Read: MBA in Entrepreneurship in Nagpur

As we know, JEE Main will be conducted twice a year. On the first attempt, the candidates will get a first-hand experience of writing a test and will understand their mistakes which they can improve while attempting the second one. Candidates can use this opportunity to improve their scores in the examination if they couldn’t get their best in one attempt. This will help them to reduce the chances of dropping a year. Droppers can also utilise this opportunity so that they can save another year. For any unforced reason, if anyone misses appearing for the first session of the JEE Main, they can appear for the second session; thus, no need to wait an entire year..

Also Read: Best Colleges for MBA in India 2022

As per the notification released by the exam conducting authority, the candidates don’t need to appear in both sessions. However, if a candidate attempted more than one JEE Main session, then their best NTA Scores will be taken into consideration for preparing the Merit List/ Ranking. Also, it is important to note that students need to fill out their applications for both sessions separately. The JEE Main application form 2023 for session 1 is available on the official website from 15th December 2022 onwards. Thus, eligible candidates can submit their applications by 12th January 2023 as per the initial note published by NTA. 

Candidates who got the cutoff score in JEE Main will be eligible to appear for the next phase of JEE, i.e., JEE Advanced. It is known that 7 IITs generally organise JEE Advanced. These 7 zonal IITs include IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, IIT Roorkee, IIT Kanpur,  IIT Kharagpur, IIT Delhi, and IIT Guwahati. They will conduct JEE Advanced on a rotational basis under the direction of the Joint Admission Board (JAB).

Also Read: How to Register for NEET 2023?

Thus, this article is about IIT JEE Phases. In this article, we have discussed the IIT JEE Main and JEE Advanced. Apart from the above-mentioned information, you will also get detailed guidelines on exam pattern, mode of the examination, eligibility criteria, number of examination centres, etc., on the official website.